In terms of cliche post titles, I think this one might take the biscuit. It pretty much covers it though!

I decided to create this blog because I sew. A lot in fact. And this year I seem to have decided to sew a lot more: I think I’m averaging three items a week at the moment, which is pretty darned impressive by my standards.

I’ve been sewing on and off for a few years. I’m one of those people who is generally crafty but who took a while to work out which crafts I like the most, and sewing seems to be the craft that has chosen me. I started doing bits and bobs when I was about seventeen and my Nan gave me her old sewing machine to mess about with. It was a bit on the dangerous side with a tendency to get very hot, and after she died I discovered that that particular model had actually been recalled by the Fire Brigade as it had a tendency of – well… setting fire.

Anyhow, I didn’t do much after that other than making a few cloaks until I turned 21 and discovered Steampunk. Steampunk pretty much spurred me into action and I’ve been making things ever since.

